Thread: Carbide Tipped Lathe Chisels

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Question Carbide Tipped Lathe Chisels

Hello,
    I was looking through a Penn State Industries catalog and saw a three piece carbide tipped, pen turning lathe chisel set. The caption said the chisels were 11 inches overall in length with 8 inch handles. When I looked them up on the internet the description said that you may never need to sharpen these chisels. The price was $44.95 for the set of three. A 1/8 inch parting tool, a 1/2 inch oval skew chisel, and a 3/8 inch spindle gouge. The description also said this set was perfect for the "sharpening challenged." It's as if they knew all about me. I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts about this set.
    I'm a complete novice when it comes to the lathe, so everything is a learning experience. It seems that the people on this forum have a wealth of knowledge and experience.
    Thanks in advance.
    Gene

Smile Carbide tipped lathe tools

I have 2 sets of Craftsman carbide lathe tools --they are my best but they do need to be sharpened on occasion--not as much as HSS or Carbon tools .
    You can get an edge on them to shave with if ya wanta -Craftsman made most of theres in late 50 -60s is what I'm told--
    Have seen Bens-Best advertised but havent tried theirs yet -I wouldn't trade mine their that good --watch the e---- occasionall some one sells a set - Happy Turning

Gene,
    I don't know what to think about them. I would of said they were a gimick had CW not just spoke highly of them. That being said I think you would be much better off buying a grinder and a wolverine system and learn to sharpen. It is very easy with the wolverine and only takes about 5 minutes to figure out. as you can't buy most the tools you want in carbide.

Bob