Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: AntiVirus recommendations?

AntiVirus recommendations?

What do you recommend for an antivirus program? Has anyone used that Microsoft OneCare application? If so, what do you think of it?

Mike
    Go into the world and do well. But more importantly, go into the world and do good.

Nod32 is good and efficient.

Whatever you do stay away from McAfee. It is a major resource hog. I have it on my laptop and even though I have a 3 year subscription, I will probably go to Nod32 like my other PC's

Quote Originally Posted by Mike Henderson View Post
    What do you recommend for an antivirus program?
    MAC OS X.

Todd

Grisoft has the free AVG anti-virus program.

free AVG anti-virus program.

free AVG anti-virus program.

I use AVG on 1 computer. It may do its job but I do not like it.

I seem to have NO control of it. Like when, which disk and if, it will scan the disks. Maybe I can pay them something and get control but I have not explored that option.

Anxious to see what others think is a good one.

I use PC-CILLIN. I've tried many programs over the last few years and PC-cillin is the only one that works well and does annoy me by bogging up the computer's resources.

Instigator...
    Glenn Clabo
    Michigan

Blog Entries
    I gave up on the pay versions of AV software. There are several free versions that are actually BETTER than what you pay for. The 3 leading free are AVG, Avast and Comodo. Vendors like McAfee and Norton seem to think if they add "features" to the for pay versions that are not available in free versions that they can get you to pay. These so called "features" only add bloat to you system. Both Norton and McAfee do this to extreme and almost always slow your computer considerably. However, if you think you need to pay for AV software, PCcillion or Panda are both pretty good.
    Both AVG and Avast have "pro" versions that you can pay for if you choose (which I have done) but it is not really necessary.