View Poll Results: Would you buy a turning video if Bill Grumbine was the main character?

Voters
113. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, I would.

101 89.38%
  • No, I am not interested.

7 6.19%
  • No, but I would bootleg it(please leave name and address for this one!)

3 2.65%
  • I would wait for the local library to get it so I could borrow it.

2 1.77%
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Interest in a New Turning Video?

Question Interest in a New Turning Video?

Good afternoon all

I have a question to put before the membership. Many of you know that I am a turner. I have been turning professionally for over 10 years now. Since 1995 I have also been teaching, and have taught almost every facet of turning to all kinds of people, from children to grandparents, men, women, physically challenged people, etc. During a recent class my student du jour approached me with the possibility of making a turning video. He is not the first one who has suggested the idea to me, but he is the first one who has the connections to make it happen.

This whole thing is in the most preliminary of planning stages - we are just talking seriously at this point about the concept and general procedure for actually producing this thing. The video, which could be the first of several depending on its success, would be a synopsis of the bowl turning class I teach. It would start with identifying the log in the field, cutting techniques with the chainsaw, preparation for the lathe, and then the turning sequence itself. All of the cuts and body movement techniques I use would be illustrated as clearly as possible with multiple camera angles. In fact, it would be a comprehensive moving picture covering the same subject of my bowl roughing article of a few days ago.