Thread: Bandsaw Blade Tension Question

Bandsaw Blade Tension Question

On my 14" Delta Bandsaw, I have a lever that allows me to release the blade tension very easily. Thus far, I have been releasing the tension if I am not going to be using the saw for a few days. Is this necessary? I notice that other saws don't have a quick release. I am getting tired of having to reset the blade when I retension it.

Any thoughts?

Be glad you have a quick release lever! I have to crank the knob on mine by hand. I understand that leaving the tension set can deform the tires, and cause vibration and tracking problems if it gets bad. Hopefully others will chime in that are more experienced bandsaw users. I'm still exploring mine. Jim.
    Coolmeadow Setters...Exclusively Irish! When Irish Eyes are smiling....They're usually up to something!!
    Home of Irish Setter Rescue of North Texas.
    No, I'm not an electrician. Any information I share is purely what I would do myself. If in doubt, hire an electrician!
    Member of the G0691 fan club!
    At a minimum, I'm Pentatoxic...Most likely I'm a Pentaholic. There seems to be no known cure. Pentatonix, winners of The Sing Off, s3.

I have a old Sears 12in BS. 1963 era. I have left the tension very tight , it has the original tires. I installed a 3/4 hp motor about 25 yrs ago. I replaced the bearings about 6 yrs ago. It is the 2nd most tool in the shop. I use cool blocks. I dont see any problems with the tires. the only other problem has been the switch, I have had to take it apart 3 times to clean the sawdust out and clean the contacts. I' very pleased with it.
    Earl

If you have the quick release lever, all you have to do is release tension with it and when you use it, flip the lever back, no adjustments should be necessary.

I have the 14" also and there's no adjustments normally needed unless you change blades.

Al
    Remember our vets, they need our help, just like they helped us.