Thread: Flattening Veneer??? Need some help

Flattening Veneer??? Need some help

Hey guys,

I did some searching online and see that you can make a homeade solution of glycerine and water but I can't find glycerine, in fact one of the pharmacists said it is used in meth production and that is now why it is hard to find...i tried to get the commercial solution but my local woodcraft is out, anyone have any ideas? Can I just soak it with water???? Also, when do you have to soak it, I bought my veneer off ebay from a local who I am meeting in the morning, it looks flat to me, but this is my first time with veneer so I want to be ready. Are you looking for it to be dead flat, like a sheet of paper? Thanks for any help,

Jason

Follow this link to the good stuff. Spray it on, alternate layers of paper towel and veneer, let sit overnight under weights, and your done. Fantastic stuff, works better than anything else I've tried. Water won't give you the results your looking for.

I used this to smooth some wild burl walnut not long ago, probably three inch bumps, over night it came out looking like flat cardboard.

http://www.veneersupplies.com/produc...roducts_id=616

Steve, thanks I have seen that stuff, guess I just didn't want to have to wait to have something shipped, is there any alternatives?

I found glycerine for sale on the web - do a google shopping search and you'll find some.

I'm pretty sure that glycerine is not used in meth production. You might ask at another drug store. But when I was shopping for it a while back (for veneer), I couldn't find it at any of the local drug stores - I bought it from an eBay seller. I have more of it than I'll ever use. If you were local, I'd give you some.

Mike
    Go into the world and do well. But more importantly, go into the world and do good.

Quote Originally Posted by Jason Scott View Post