Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Woodcraft lumber prices

Woodcraft lumber prices

My local Wodcraft is very conveniently located only 15 minutes away. They have a nice supply of all kinds of different hardwoods. I'm just getting into hardwood furniture stuff and wonder how their prices compare to a real hardwood supplier.

Can someone with more experience tell me what the comparison is like? The stuff seems expensive but I have nothing to base that feeling on. If it's way over normal cost I could still use them for the odd trim piece and go to a real supplier for the rest.

Thanks.

Here in New Hampshire, I have found the prices at Woodcraft and Rockler to be so much higher than the lumber yards I wouldn't even consider using them for the odd trim pieces. But, they do have bowl blanks that the lumber yards don't even stock.

My regular rough sawn supplier also supplies my Woodcraft store...his prices tend to be close to 1/2, but it's cash on the barrel in a much less professional setting, plus WC surfaces a couple of sides. The WC near me is definitely more expensive, but I don't think they're outrageous either.
    Happiness is like wetting your pants...everyone can see it, but only you can feel the warmth....

Woodcraft is a 'convenience' hardwood supplier. From where you are, check out the websites for 'The Hardwood Store of North Carolina' and 'Wall Lumber'. they have price lists on line which you can compare to WC's prices.

George
    2B1ASK1

Blog Entries
    I like both Woodcraft and Woodworkers Source. I've usually found Woodworkers to be a little cheaper.
    What you listen to is your business....what you hear is ours.

I agree Woodcraft is very expensive. I've had Wall Lumber ship to me in KY and was very pleased with lumber, prices & service. You might also check www.woodfinder.com for other dealers in your area. I know that there is one near Hickory but do not recall his name.
    Bob