• 80% saleable project time, 20% shop project time

1 5.88%
  • 90% saleable project time, 10% shop project time

9 52.94%
  • No more shop projects, they waste my time

2 11.76%

Thread: Time management in the shop Professionals

Time management in the shop Professionals

This is for professional woodworkers, part and full time. I am creating a similar thread for us weekend warriors. This may seem like a strange question, but how is your shop time divided between actually making your saleable projects and creating "for the shop projects"? I've been doing this for about 5 years now (hobby), and it seems like I spend more time making stuff like jigs, shop fixtures, shelving and storage in the shop, adjusting and remaking jigs and shop tools, etc? Each project requires a new jig or two for accuracy, and there is always something else to build to make the shop function better. Then I need to make a new storage system for the new jigs and tools blah, blah, blah, you get the idea. Last night I saw David Marks make one of the most complex jigs I've ever seen. It took more time than the actual project. So I am posting a poll with this thread for professionals, that may make just one, or many copies of a project. Feel free to add coments about your time in the shop. As I mentioned, this is a hobby for me, and I never want it to become my living. That's the fastest way I know to ruin a good hobby.
    Last edited by Brian Brown; 02-16-2008 at 11:15 AM.
    Brian

Sawdust Formation Engineer
    in charge of Blade Dulling

At my last job (custom millwork) we were allowed 10% weekly hours max for shop time, ie: projects or maintenence not directly billable to an order. If we used the whole 10% regularly you got the HAIRY EYEBALL from the foreman. We tended to do things on occasional slow weeks, during dry times (waiting for glue to set) or when absolutely neccessary.