Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Date for SawStop contractor's saw? Going on 5 years.

Date for SawStop contractor's saw? Going on 5 years.

I have been planning to buy the SawStop contractor's saw for well over a year now. Can't justify almost $4,000 for cabinet model. Today, I found an article from a 2003 article in Fine Homebuilding tauting the fall of '03 as the time the contractor's version would hit the market. Five years on, and no such saw.

Does anyone know whether SawStop's newly advertised (on their website) "Spring, 2008" will really see the saw come to market?

I'm a newbie woodworker, and do not own a table saw. Anyone care to try to talk me into taking the plunge and buying the cabinet model? [Probably won't take a lot of effort on your part.]

Here's the link from 2003: http://www.taunton.com/finehomebuild...evisited.aspx?

Over at one of the other forums some guys have now been receiving their saws. They should be for sale in May according to everything the SS guys are saying.

I'm pretty sure there will be one on display at the Woodworking Show in Tampa next week if you want to check one out.

Quote Originally Posted by John Dorough View Post
    I have been planning to buy the SawStop contractor's saw for well over a year now. Can't justify almost $4,000 for cabinet model. Today, I found an article from a 2003 article in Fine Homebuilding tauting the fall of '03 as the time the contractor's version would hit the market. Five years on, and no such saw.

Does anyone know whether SawStop's newly advertised (on their website) "Spring, 2008" will really see the saw come to market?

I'm a newbie woodworker, and do not own a table saw. Anyone care to try to talk me into taking the plunge and buying the cabinet model? [Probably won't take a lot of effort on your part.]

Here's the link from 2003: http://www.taunton.com/finehomebuild...evisited.aspx?