Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Anyone happy with their 6" jointer?

Anyone happy with their 6" jointer?

Hi All,

I'm in the market for my first jointer and have noticed that many here say they wish they had gone with an 8 inch jointer instead of a 6 inch. I'm trying to make the 8 inch versus 6 inch decision. I can get an adequate 6 inch for $400 (Rikon on sale at local Woodcraft now) or less if I can find a local used jointer. I can get the Shop Fox 8 inch parallelogram 4 blade jointer (same machine as Grizzly G0490) locally for $800.

Money is not a real big factor, but the weight is, since I have to move this thing down into my small basement shop pretty much on my own. The 8 inch one, at over 500 pounds is twice as heavy as the 6 inch. I'm new to woodworking and am not really sure how much I'll be using the jointer, but it seemed pretty handy in the last two classes I took. I have the DeWalt 735 planer (still in its box).

My question is this: Are there any beginning woodworkers out there that are satisfied with their 6 inch jointer and don't regret not getting an 8 inch?

Thanks,

Dave

Only thing I regret is not having a big enough shop to actually have an 8 inch jointer. Other than that, I've been happy with my 6 inch JET. I'm not sure about the parallelogram designs but the traditional jointers can be easily separated from the base and the motor can also be separated. Look at a user's manual or better a parts diagram to see how you might be able to take one apart.

I am happy with my 6" jointer as I only paid $250 for it new. For the price its accurate and so far dependable.

Would I like a larger easier to use one. Yup. But the one I have does what I need very well. If I were to get a new one I would jump to 12" though. Right now where I get my hardwood they will joint 1 face for me for .15 a BF. I only do that if I buy wider boards. The ones that will fit my Jointer I do myself.