Thread: Home made live center

Home made live center

I'm just getting into hollow forms with tiny bases. I don't have a vacuum system so I need to do the foot and finishing on the lathe.

What I'm thinking I need is a large cone live center that will fit into the opening to stabilize the form for finishing and a small peg to finish the foot. whlie rechucking.

I'm open to all suggestions since I'm the green one here.

Thanks,
    Burt

Burt.....do you have a donut chuck?

The one HF I've done....I used double-sided tape to tape some pieces of 2" styrofoam....multiple pieces taped together to make a rough square to the center of the base of the donut chuck. I turned the styrofoam insulation to a cylinder. The diameter of the cylinder was small enough to go through the opening of the HF. The cylinder has to be long enough to hold the edges of the HF off the base of the donut chuck. Then I put the HF on the styrofoam...installed the capturing ring of the donut chuck to hold the HF....then turned the base/feet. This is how I turn the tenons off my NEs too. I turn a cone shape to support the NE so the edges don't touch the base of the donut chuck. You could do the same thing with a piece of wood...turn a cylinder and tape it to the donut chuck.
    Last edited by Ken Fitzgerald; 03-22-2008 at 1:32 PM.
    Ken

So much to learn, so little time.....

I haven't done it yet, but you might want to make a donut chuck, they look VERY efficient.
    Till I make mine, I make jamb chucks. The one thing I do with hollow forms is to make the jamb so that the HF meets the jamb at the shoulders, rather than in the opening... I broke several nice hollow forms doing things similar to what you are proposing.