Thread: what to look for in a wooden plane?

what to look for in a wooden plane?

I'm still very new to the hand tool way, I have only a couple of stanleys & not many options when it comes to aquiring more. Maybe Katrina washed them all away I dont know - I don't see many old tools in antique shops or flea markets around here. I have been looking on ebay but am unsure of myself & can't afford ($$) to make too many mistakes. There are a number of old wooden planes on ebay now that I've thought I might try for but I'm not sure what makes a good user & when to pass. While I'm asking questions, how does one sharpen the different profiles on these planes? Thanks, as always.

g
    We are here on Earth to do good to others. What the others are here for, I don't know.

W. H. Auden

Look for something that doesn't have large cracks or look too dried out (i.e. dry rotted). Wide mouths are not that big of a deal as long as they are not like the Grand Canyon. Light checking is also not that big of a deal as long as the cracks are not in vital areas, i.e. the wedge abutments. Look for pictures where the iron has been removed as well. You don't want to get it only to find the wedge has been driven so hard that it is near impossible to get it out. Better for it to be stored relatively loose. Also, look to be sure there isn't so much pitting that it cannot be lapped out of the iron. At worst, you can back bevel a bench plane iron to get past pitting but this shouldn't be done on a molding plane or joinery plane (dado, rabbet, etc.) Be picky and look for the best pictures from the most angles. You are looking for anything that looks like it does not belong. Also, don't expect a steal unless you only want to keep the iron. If the plane is worth buying, you likely will not be the only one bidding (only in very rare instances).