Thread: What Lathe OTHER THAN 3520

What Lathe OTHER THAN 3520

I Know u all favor the PM 3520... So do i (i think) but im looking in to alternatives to the 3520. So if you could choose a lathe closest to above or below the 3520 witch one would you choose?? Im asking so that i can compare features and find witch to try before i buy :-)

I have a handbuild danish alternative that im looking into... he would be able to build me one very close to the 3520...
    Rasmus Petersen - woodturning.dk.
    Itīs not a failure itīs a design opportunity

Rasmus....I'd look at one of the Novas.....or Oneways......or Robust......
    Ken

So much to learn, so little time.....

stay away from Laguanas customer service is a nightmare if there is a problem

There is a lot of praise for the Jet 2HP variable speed model. Amazon has it priced at $1,899 with free shipping:

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg...X0DER&v=glance

Keep in mind that I have zero turning experience but like you I am researching which lathe to buy. Leaning towards the 3520B at the moment.

Rasmus How about a vicmarc, I see they are availible in Denmark. From what I here they are great machines.

Bob

Vicmark, Poolwood, Oneway

I think i need to add some info... Im not looking for just brand names, but specifics, model number and why you would choose that one over the 3520... so i know excactly what to look for... im looking for opinions..
    Rasmus Petersen - woodturning.dk.
    Itīs not a failure itīs a design opportunity

See http://mustardmonster.googlepages.com/ and go to "Reviews" page. Just about every lathe out their has been discussed with respect to he PM3520. Not sure about Robust and Stubby, costly but superb lathes.
    Jerry Hall

Blog Entries
    JET 1642 ( I'd say the 3520B baby brother.)

Stubby (any model)

Robust (Made in the U.S.ofA.) "The American Beauty" 25"(Sliding Headstock) or the "Sweet 16"(Fixed Headstock)< Gotta love the Names of their lathes Totally Americana.

Oneway