Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Flattening Cutting Board

Flattening Cutting Board

Hi folks,
    I am having a devil of a time flattening a cutting board I am making. I am making one of the checkerboard courtesy of tWW. I made it out of Purpleheart and hard Maple. I am right after the first glue up and trying to flatten the board. I cannot for the life of me get it flat. I have tried my ROS, Belt Sander, and plane. The Plane takes gouges out of the purpleheart and keeps making it worse and the Belt Sander seems to be taking forever with little progress. Am I missing something or do I just need patience? The plane is really irritating me but part of it is I am still learning to properly use a plane. I would use my planer but the last time I used it on a cutting board it met with a shattering disaster. Any ideas?

Shane

flattening cutting board

is this an end grain cutting board?? if it is good luck. will take a lot of patience and sanding.

It will be an end grain cutting board. Right now I am working on the long grain part.

Shane

I know you don't want to hear this, but there are some projects where a specific tool is needed to get the job done right and quick. I make a lot of cutting boards and I wouldn't do them if I didn't have a drum sander. There is just no good way to get an end grain board perfectly flat without one. I burned up a ROS last year trying to flatten a board before I bit the bullet and bought the drum sander.

I was hoping that would not be the case. I would love to have a drum sander but my God how expensive does one tool have to be. I don't even understand why drum sanders are so expensive. It seems to me they would be a similar mechanism to a planer or other such tools but are way over those prices. I just don't see how I can fit that in when I just bought a new TS. What I don't understand is why my Belt Sander is not working well.

Shane