Thread: Butcher block

Butcher block

I'm about to attempt to make a heavy cutting block that will be 20"x20"x 16" thick. I've made a few end grain boards already. Is there anything different that has to be done with a block this size. I see on some there seems to be a few plugs in the sides that I surmise is for threaded rods for extra precaution to hold them together. I will be using rock maple & some other wood intermixed. Can I sill use tight bond 3 or is some other glue more suitable. I thought of epoxy but thats not good for chopping food on....Any ideas would be appreciated

I used to be a chef and have seen a variety of different big blocks (some 42"X32"X24") though have never made one. I've seen them with threaded rod, I've seen them with steel bands like a coopers barrel around the outside, and the coolest one had dovetails at every intersection of each interior piece in the block. Keeping them dry and well oiled goes a long way towards keeping them together.

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by Jay Jolliffe View Post
    I'm about to attempt to make a heavy cutting block that will be 20"x20"x 16" thick.

One thing is for sure, It will be heavy.....I hoe you have a crane or a helper to help you move it around.
    Lee Schierer
    USNA '71
    Go Navy!

My advice, comments and suggestions are free, but it costs money to run the site. If you found something of value here please give a little something back by becoming a contributor! Please Contribute

Jay,
    I gots to ask, why is this thing going to be 16" thick. It's definately going to be a "stump" of a chopping block. Am curious to know what the advantages would be over say a 4" thick one. Am thinking of a future project maybe in this direction and am open for any insight.
    Thanks.
    Been around power equipment all my life and can still count to twenty one nakey