Thread: Hand Plane Advice

Hand Plane Advice

I am basically new to hand planes and have some applications where I have boards wider than my jointer or planer can support, along with projects for laid out for them and prefer not to have to rip them down, joint&plane them and them re-glue them.

Forgive my lack of experience on this, but any basic information (styles/model #'s for specific uses, etc) would be helpful, either in a post or if someone has a link to a good article.

Thanks in advance.
    Grady - "Thelma, we found Dean's finger"
    Thelma - "Where is the rest of him?!"

So you want to flatten and straighten then? If that is the case you are looking for a jointer or try plane. Get something long, in the 22" or longer range. If you are going from rough to finished, you may find that starting with a jack plane taking a thick shaving and then going to the try/jointer with a finer cut will be faster. However, if money is an issue and you can only get one plane, go for the longer one. I'm currently flattening 8"-12"+ wide by 8' long boards and the resulting 20"+ panels that they are being glued into. I use a jack to plane across the grain removing any cup and then a try plane diagonal and with the grain to finish the board/panel face to final flatness. Having the two planes set up to take different thickness shaving makes this fast and painless, albeit you will sweat .

If money is an issue, look for transitional planes. They can be had much cheaper than the metal versions and their soles are much easier to flatten (just pass them over your jointer). They can be had in a lot more lengths than the metal versions as well, all the way up to 30", which is not too long.

If you are starting from rough sawn wood, then traditionally you will use 3 planes.
    A jack plane (stanley #5 or6) to take the wood flat and to thickness.
    Then a try plane (stanley #7 or 8) to make it level.
    Then a smoother (stanley #3 or 4) to make it smooth