Thread: Which Paint on HF HVLP setup

Which Paint on HF HVLP setup

I have to paint my first real project for the wife. I built a crib out of clear pine and was planning on having a buddy paint it for us, but that idea fell thru for several reasons. Anyway, did some reading here and there and decided on purchasing the HF HVLP spray kit (same as rockler, woodcraft etc).

Question, which paint is the preferred to use. I just read the current post about Painting Furniture and per Jim's suggestion, I was planning on useing either the SW Proclassic WB or the BM Impervo WB.

Will this work good with the HF setup. IF so, do I need to thin it and with what?

Im a newbie, can you tell?

TOm

I don't think you'll get good results with the WB paint. The Proclassic is fairly thick and I don't think those small turbine units have the flow to atomize it correctly. Even with a bigger tip I haven't been able to spray paint with my HVLP conversion gun. I recently bought a bottle of Flotrol additive to try to see if I can get reasonable results with that + the bigger tip. But unless you can get get a larger tip I think you'll be a step behind where I'm at.

You should be able to spray a WB lacquer product like Target Coatings USL which can be tinted. Jim recommends that regularly. One source is http://www.homesteadfinishing.com which is owned by Jeff Jewitt.

I was planning on thinning it down. Is this still a bad idea?

Tom