Thread: Newbie spray finishing question

Newbie spray finishing question

So I'm new at all of this, but I want to get off to the right foot.

I'm going to be stepping up my project level quite a bit and starting on some plantation shutters in the next few weeks. Due to the number of parts involved, I'd like to spray on the finish rather than hand paint everything. I'm going to be painting the shutters white. They, of course, need to be primed as well. Where do I even start with this?

Will the HVLP setups be able to handle the viscosity of the latex paint and primer?

I have a small air compressor that I use for small jobs on cars and to drive finish nailers. What size compressor is required for basic painting though? I don't mind waiting so that the motor isn't running flat out / 100% duty cycle.

Where do I start with the guns?!? HELP!

Cheers
    -Davis
    Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

First, for spraying, latex paint isn't a good choice. If you want to say with a waterborne finish, you want a finish material that is explicitly designed to be sprayed. Target finishes has several that can have the pigment added to become very nice paint. I used Target USL for interior doors and Crown moldings for my new house and found they worked well. Check Jeff Jewitt's www.homesteadfinishing.com for both info on the Target paints and on spray guns. Different guns have different air requirements--these too are spelled out on Jeff's web pages. In general more is better than less. By the way, unless you plan to go to job sites away from home, portability isn't all that important. You can easily run enough air line hose to work quite a distance away from a compressor, as long as it has a little extra oompf to compensate for pressure losses due to the hose.

spraying latex

I have just started spraying finishes and have a hitachi compressor and an hvlp gun from a big box store (bare bones).