Thread: Table Saw Fence

Table Saw Fence

I have a Delta contractor saw and the original fence needs replacing. I have recently seen the reviews in WOOD magazine and the top rating for the Biesemeyer home fence. I have done some additional study and the cost of the commercial unit is not that much more. I have also had some strong recommendations for the Delta Unifence as the only way to go. I am a hobby woodworker but am interested in trying to get the best available for reasonable price to handle multiple tasks. I have seen a lot of articles on auxilary fences and jigs for the Biesemeyer and it seems to be the more popular. Expert comments???????????

I specified the Biesemeyer when I ordered my Unisaw and without hesitation would do it again. However, a friend of mine has the unifence and feels the same way about his. They are both excellent fences, it all boils down to what tickles your fancy the most.

How’s that for being objective.
    Please help support the Creek.

"It's paradoxical that the idea of living a long life appeals to everyone, but the idea of getting old doesn't appeal to anyone."
    Andy Rooney

This is not an expert opinion.

I have a Bies clone - very nice, solid and heavy-duty fence. It's easy to jig for it because it has a square-ish cross-section.

My wife has a Unifence from another saw hanging around, and I keep giving it the eye. Unfortunately, she doesn't have the rails.

Personally, if I were starting from scratch, not being a production shop here, I'd be inclined to go with the Unifence, because it can be rotated to present a low profile that thin sheet good won't slip under, and because the fence can be pulled back to provide better infeed support. There's a product called the Uni-T-Fence that is a square cross-section extrusion that can be used interchangeably with the standard unifence extrusion. It also has T-track slots in it. That addresses the jigging issue.