Thread: Dado blade question

Dado blade question

I am considering getting a stacked dado blade set for my table saw. I've never used a dado set before, so I'm looking for reasonably priced recommendations. I've seen the Freud SD208 mentioned, is that a good dado set?

Is there any difference or advantage to a 4-wing chipper (like I've seen on NYW) over a 2-wing chipper?

What should I look for in a dado set? What should I avoid?

Laurie, the 208 is a well respected dado set. I was very happy with mine until I knocked them of the edge of my TS.
    The 4 wing chipper will give twice the life and it will take less effort to push the work piece through the blades.
    Please help support the Creek.

"It's paradoxical that the idea of living a long life appeals to everyone, but the idea of getting old doesn't appeal to anyone."
    Andy Rooney

I like my SD208. I just got it. In fact, I got the 6" version which is fine for the < 1" dados I've been cutting with it.

The shims and chippers work fine for me; nice clean dados. One pc of advice, use a backer on yr piece to minimize chipout on the trailing edge of the dado.

The SD208 is a good set for the price. Sets with 4-wing chippers like the SD508 usually include outside cutters that also have twice as many teeth as the 2-wing sets, and will tend to have a cleaner cut as well as longer edge life, but that depends alot on the quality of the set. The DeWalt/Delta 7670 is a 4-wing with an excellent cut for the price. I haven't tried the Oshlun set but it's designed similarly to my $300 Systimatic Superfine set, and my Oshlun 40T blade was a heck of a good value.
    Happiness is like wetting your pants...everyone can see it, but only you can feel the warmth....

I usually don't brag about my dado stack because it was bought at a bargain price and does not have the name recognition that Freud and Forrest have.