Thread: Rosewood - Finishing Question

Rosewood - Finishing Question

This weekend I built most of a Shaker end table for LOML, of Bolivian Rosewood, with a lacewood top. This is my first time around with rosewood. Just finishing up the drawer now, and my thoughts are turning to finishing it. On a wood I know, I will spray dewaxed shellac, and then put a couple of coats of varnish on the top only for durability, then rub out, and wax the whole thing.
    Will this be OK with the rosewood?
    The rosewood just ate my edge tools. They all look like scratching planes at this point, and a major resharpening session is called for. Wow; tough stuff.
    Thanks for any help.
    Alan

hi alan - i did a hewelry wall cabinet out of rosewood - finish was 6 padded coats of shellace then 2 coats of wax. no problems at all - polished our beautifully

and your right - rosewood is tough on tools - and really makes a mess.

jerry
    jerry

oops that was "jewelry" -- and here's a close up

jerry
    Attached Images Attached Images
    jerry

Nice piece of work. I assume that is your marquetry (sp) work. Reminds me a bit of a Sara Steele syle of flower (a local Philadelphia artist/painter). Glad to see that the shellac approach worked for you. Thanks so much for responding. I will give it a shot.
    Yes, rosewood makes a mess, but I found the smell of the cut wood to be pleasant, although I know some are allergic to it. A fellow I know who does South American wood stuff (importing and such) says that the French are buying up all of the Brazillian Rosewood that they can, and having it boiled locally in Brazil, and paying a very dear price for the oil, for use in perfume.
    BTW, what flavor of Rosewood is it that you used. Looks similar to the Bolivian I just used.
    Alan

thanks alan - yes - my work on the marquetry. i used thai rosewood - found a fellow who specializes in it - incredibly dense. after awhile i found that i needed to wear a mask pretty regularly.

jerry