Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Anyone tried the DeWalt TrackSaw?

Anyone tried the DeWalt TrackSaw?

The DeWalt TrackSaw, as advertised on this forum, looks interesting. Has anyone tried it? Anyone designed a stand to turn it into a panel saw - or does it already have such an accessory?

I second the question: will it make a good panel saw.

The price, though, isn't a laughing matter---.

i've have http://www.eurekazone.com/index.html and use it regularly to cut down sheet good. having not used the dewalt i don't have a good comparison of the two. the dewalt looks very similar to the ez system from eureka zone. the ez system will allow you to use your existing circular saw which cuts down on the price. eurekazone also has its own following under the mfg forums here.

I've been using homemade guides with PC saws for over 30 years and do not see the need for something like this. In fact I see advantages, besides price to making your own. Its a gimmick.

The concept is more than a gimmick. The quality of the cut can be significantly greater on the dedicated saw/track combination. I have the Festool and because of the "zero clearance" strip on the track, and attachment on the saw, I get saw cuts on plywood that are at least as good, smooth and tear-out free, as on my Unisaw. I haven't seen the DeWalt--I'm not sure they are actually available on this side of the pond yet.

Rockler sent me a DVD about it - I watched it, and from what I saw, I don't think I'd pay more than about $150 for it (even if I were in the market for a track saw). It looked cheap, mostly plastic, and not especially more handy than a homebuilt jig.

Disclaimer: I haven't actually seen the saw, these are just my impressions from watching DeWalt's promotional DVD.

I own a corded dewalt track saw (contest tool I won). As tracksaws go, I have only used it and the TS55 Festool. The Dewalt is not better but still awesome. No problems with mine yet breaking down oak plywood.