Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Finished Tool Cabinet, and a confession

Finished Tool Cabinet, and a confession

Just finished my latest tool cabinet today. I am fairly new to hand tools, and I set out to cut all of the joinery for this cabinet with hand tools. I found the cherry for the carcass to be very unforgiving when cutting through dovetails by hand, so I switched to box joints on the table saw for the main case (they also proved to be tougher than I expected). I did, however, manage to cut the dovetails for the drawers by hand.

Thats it for the confession, now for the details of the cabinet. It is 32" high, by 32" tall with doors shut. It totals about 11" deep also with doors closed. The main carcass, doors and top are cherry. The door panels and back panel are baltic birch ply, and I added maple veneer to the outside of the doors. The interior tool wells are made from bb ply and cherry. The drawers have cherry fronts, aspen sides and back, and bb ply for the bottom. The door and drawer pulls are cocobolo.

I tried to leave some room for expansion in the future (both in the doors and left side of interior). The missing plane spot is for a low angle jack (proper dimensions thanks to Don Peterson), hopefully coming at holiday time. I would also like a good combo square and maybe a tenon saw to hang inside one of the doors.

Thanks for looking,

Gary
    PB180001.jpg

PB180005.jpg

PB180006.jpg

PB180007.jpg
    Last edited by Gary Benson; 11-18-2007 at 11:58 PM. Reason: Additional info

Gary,
    Very nice cabinet!
    Lee

Very nice indeed looks great. What was the problem with the cherry that you had, was it that the grain was somewhat wild, and did not cooperate with cutting?

I see you did not put many saws in there, wise move as inevitably as you slide down the slope ever faster they will doubtles breed in your shop and grow in numbers.

Good work though no matter how it happened