Thread: Size question articulated hollower

Size question articulated hollower

I have decide to go ahead and try to build an articulated hollowing system like the Monster or the Elbo tool. I will be following the directions posted by CaptainEddie for most of the job. I have found that the proportions on the monster articulated hollowing system seem to be more appealing to me. I know several of you folks have purchased the monster system. Could someone give me the lengths of the 3 arm sections? No need to be exact close is good enough. Alas, if I fail at this I will be placing an order with Randy for his high quality set up, but I've just got to give it a try on my own!..Thanks in advance...Bill...

Articulated Hollowing System

Hello Bill,

As this is my first post, I should introduce myself. I'm from Australia and I have been turning for about nine years (lurking here for a long time). Like you, I decided to build my own articulated hollowing tool. I have been working on it now for about six months, modifying it to suit my needs. The pics below may help you to build yours. My hollower is a cross between the elbow tool and the vicmarc tool, and is a fairly heavy duty version to suit my VL300 longbed lathe. The top arm is 17 inches long and the other two arms are each 12 inches in length. The tool shaft is a three quarter inch diameter chrome molly bar 29 inches long. It is fitted with a proform cutting tool on one end and a high speed steel round scraper on the other (scraper not shown in these pics). The way the shaft is mounted on the top arm allows me to adjust the length of tool overhang and is reversable, of course. This tool works well for me, I hope this post helps you.

Fredo
    Attached Images Attached Images
    A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kickboxing.

First of all...welcome to the board! Quite a few really good folks are active here. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do..