Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Shop vac. vs. Dust Collector question (newbie)

Shop vac. vs. Dust Collector question (newbie)

Forgive my ignorance but other than the huge one in highschool shop class years ago, I have no experience with a dust collector.

and love it by the way. It is 6.5HP and can suck the stipes off a zebra thru the 7' hose no probs. The hose is 2.5" dia.

So far the only tool I own with a 4" dust port is my Dewalt 635 planer. (I will soon own more). I noticed on the planer that the port that the dust comes thru is only 2.5" anyway, the rest of the 4" is blocked off by the attachment that comes with the planer. So I just hook my Ridgid vac up to that and voila, sucks the shaving up like a bugger!

So my question is, do I even need a Dust collector? Or can I just use my shop vac? Will I see any real benefit from a 4" hose and dedicated unit, other than not having to empty the 16 gallon vac as often?

TIA.

edit*... the vac is rated at 203CFM.
    Last edited by Ryan Sparreboom; 06-01-2008 at 6:40 PM.

Ryan,

You should do a quick search through this forum, because that question has been run through a number of times. Please don't take that as a snide response - there is a lot of great information on some of those posts.

The short answer is that ther is a difference between a shop vac and a DC. Shop vacs are designed for high suction, low air flow. They can pick up a bolt from your shop floor. A DC is designed to move a much larger volume of air and at higher velocities, because that's what's really needed to keep chips and dust suspended in the air.

A shop vac is better than nothing, but it won't do what you want for something like a table saw.

Rob
    Last edited by Rob Russell; 06-02-2008 at 7:16 AM. Reason: missing "like"