Thread: $99 Wilton Planer thoughts and experience

Thumbs up $99 Wilton Planer thoughts and experience

Greetings all.

I have not been able to post very much previously, I've been sidelined medically for a while...

Anyway, I was one on the folks who scored a Wilton branded planer at Rockler recently and wished to impart a few of my findings after using it for a few hours and what I still need to figure out with this $99 planer.

I am a 49 y/o Toyota Technician, so I am handy with tools but still quite new to wood working and woodworking power tools. (I would much rather use my Jet 1642 lathe than do, er, uh, "FLATWORK" but the love of my life has been pestering me to put doors on a Knotty Hickory bookcase I built her last year.) I thickness planed all the boards on her bookcase by hand and I promised myself "Never AGAIN!!!" Sooooo, this is my first planer and if I screw up techniques or use the wrong terminology please feel free to correct me.

After getting the Wilton #99182 12 1/2" planer home and unboxing it, I looked to the instructions on setting it up. (Yes, I know, just consider me the exception to the rule...) The english portion of the instruction booklet is 18 pages and rather thin on actually being usefull. It has only basic information and even too little of that. It will get you going, but there were definitely a few head scratch moments in there...

At this point, do yourself a gigantic favor and go to http://www.grizzly.com/images/manuals/g0505_m.pdf and look at the manual there. While I know they are not 100% perfectly the same, the Grizzly G0505 and the Wilton are, well, call it 98% the same. The Grizzly Manual is much more comprehensive in ALL areas. From work bench mounting options to troubleshooting wood tearout and snipe issues, the Grizzly manual is a gem.