Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: First Project and wow is wood expensive

First Project and wow is wood expensive

Hello!

I'm a brand new woodworker and having gone through a tool collection phase I feel ready to take on a first project. I decided to make a cabinet for my sister to do hair with at home. She still lives with the folks so the design is intentional for the space and has dictated the size/shape etc of the wood used. I plan to construct the carcass out of MDF or cheap ply as it will be painted but I wanted to use tiger/curly maple for the doors and do a modern slab design on the doors. After calculating everything out I needed 2 32x26" (approx) doors. Basically I calculated I needed 6 10'x8" 4/4 boards to make book matched doors. I brought up on a bf calc and I it came out to 40bf total.... and at 5.25 a bf it was $210 ....

So do they make curly maple veneered MDF core ply or do I need to get a good resaw blade and make my own veneered MDF doors?

Good luck finding tiger maple with nice figure for 5.25. $200 isn't bad. You're going to add almost that much for the MDF too. Get used to it. You haven't even gotten to the expensive wood yet.

Yes, you can buy figured maple veneer and go that route if you choose. It probably won't save you as much as you think, especially after you factor in the extra materials, tools, and effort it will take to apply the veneer well. I wouldn't put veneer over MDF anyway -- though you can probably get away with it if it stays dry.

Have fun with it whichever way you choose to go.

I'm going off the price list at my "local" hardwood dealer (http://www.highlandhardwoods.com/ret...od-lumber.html) they list 5.25 for soft curly maple (I honestly don't know the diff between hard/soft curly maple). I'm going to head up there tomorrow. It'll be my first trip to an actual hardwood dealer so it should be eye opening and fun to go see all the woods I've been reading about in person.