Thread: how to turn a coaster?

how to turn a coaster?

I am fairly new to turning and a friend asked me to make some coasters. What would be the best way to mount a blank and more puzzling to me the best way to reverse mount it to finish the bottom? I do not have a vacuum chuck. I do have faceplates and a scroll chuck. I would want to make a a set of them if I was making.

I am new to the turning thing, but I would consider a coaster to be a tiny platter with no foot. I would cut a blank down to the size needed, turn a tenon with some extra space between the chuck and the bottom surface of the platter. One the top is complete, I would use a parting tool to remove the platter/coaster from the chuck (here is where the extra space is needed). I would push the parting tool in toward the coaster to create a slight indention when it is removed. Then hand sand the bottom. You could use a piece of sandpaper face up on the bench top, and move the coaster bottom across it to keep it flat/level.

You will probably get a better option from some of the experienced turners.

Skott,