Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Flamable Rags - Any Simple Rules?

Flamable Rags - Any Simple Rules?

I am a novice refinisher. I have mostly used various Minwax or Cabots pre-mixed stains with a wipe-on poly finish, but I am interesting in experimenting more. I have done samples using Tung oil, BLO, and shellac. I do small pieces mostly - end tables, small drop-leaf tables, chairs, etc. I do about one piece a week for a charity. I work in my attached un-heated garage near Boston (i.e., it gets pretty cold) and I keep my water-based chemicals inside during the winter.

I don't want to burn the house down. I have never had a rag get warm but I believe there is a fire danger. I want to avoid using chemicals that have spontaneous combusion traits. Taking rags outside to air dry is impractical in the snow and ice.

I beleive BLO rags are dangerous. Are there others?

Does it help to seal rags in ZipLoc bags?

Thanks
    Doug, the "Wood Loon"
    Acton, MA

72, slow road cyclist, woodworking dabbler, tool junkie , and
    bonsai enthusiast.
    Now, if I could just stay focused longer than a few weeks...

Store oily stain rags in a closed metal can filled with water. No ziplock or plastic cans. Metal are the best. Most of the time you will be safe with putting them in the garbage but all it takes is one time. I've seen the hot summer sun set blade to a dumpster and the box truck parked next to it because the rags were dumped in the dumpster. A lot of towns have companies that will pick them up for you for a small fee.

I think it is a safe general practice to take the above precaution with ALL rags with finish on them. Even though there may be some more dangerous than others, it just builds a good "Safe Practice Standard" for you and will make it less likely you miss something.