Thread: Cyclone DC

Cyclone DC

Hi everyone, I have a stupid question about my DC, I have been using it for more than two years, I made it myself using Bill's plan and working very well, it was in my basement and the Amps it was drawing was about 12 and the chip bin was a box made of plywood.

This summer I built my woodshop, I have finished moving all my tools in the new shop and installing them up. As it is I'm in the process of installing the DC and making a few changes to it. Instead of the wood box for the chips, it is more convenient for me to use those big plastics bags, the problem is that the DC wants to suck up the bag in the cone; I have seen Cyclone using those plastics bag any special way to install them.

Second my Amps has drop to 9, can anyone see the reason for this, I am using the same pipes ( 6 inches PVC )and I have also clean the filters, hardly any dust in them.
    Thank you all

Quote Originally Posted by Marcel LeBlanc View Post
    ...Instead of the wood box for the chips, it is more convenient for me to use those big plastics bags, the problem is that the DC wants to suck up the bag in the cone; I have seen Cyclone using those plastics bag any special way to install them.
    The bag will either have to be supported against the suction by some rigid framework inside the bag or be isolated from the suction by some sealed container outside the bag.

The pressure inside the cyclone is less than atmospheric pressure. The bag itself offers no resistance to that pressure differential. A rigid internal framework can provide support to prevent the bag collapsing. But that can present problems emptying the bag. Alternately, enclosing the bag in a sealed container will prevent atmospheric pressure from collapsing the bag. I have the bag for my Pentz cyclone inside a 55 gal drum with a sealed lid and it works well. But, if there is any leakage around the lid, the bag gets pulled up into the cyclone body.