Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Which tool manufactuers have the best reputations?

Which tool manufactuers have the best reputations?

I'm a beginner who is planning on building a shop in Spring. I've done a lot of reading on the various tools and the companies than make them. Here is an overview on what I think I've learned. Are these perceptions accurate?

Delta - The gold standard when it comes to stationary tools. A very old and respected company with a good reputation. Though has quality started to suffer in recent years? They're now selling stuff at the borg and have had to contend with stiffer competition from importers.

Jet - Originally started to make Chinese knockoffs of Delta gear. The company was "rebooted" a few years back and began to take a more serious interest in quality control. How successful has this turn around been?

Grizzly - Perceived as meaning middle-of-the-road in terms of quality and price. Their tools are considered a good value and have a rep for excellent customer service (especially since they sell direct.)

Steel City Toolworks - A relative new comer to the game, I can't find much info on their reputation. Though they seem to be well-received and might be a slight step up from Grizzly in terms of value?

Powermatic - Like Delta, has been around a while. Seems to be the most well-respected (in terms of quality) of the bunch.

Mini Max, Hammer, etc - European companies that make the Festool equivlant of stationary machines. Very pricey with reputations to match. Should the hobbyist even consider these machines?

It really depends on which tool the poster owns, then that is the best in most cases.

If I was to start over again I would like to think I would be smart enough to buy one of the euro combination machines, but I am probably not......

Jeff, I'm glad you've asked such an easy, non-controversial question!