Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My First Bandsaw - Need Your Advice

My First Bandsaw - Need Your Advice

I am going to purchase my first bandsaw and I've saved enough to actually get a new one. With the Woodworking Shows in town (NJ) this weekend I think that is going to be the place for me to start shopping. I know Delta is there and they usually have special deals at the show.

I would like to get a 14" saw and it will have to be under $1000 so that narrows my search a bit. My questions are what brands offer the most durability and simplicity. I am a beginner in woodworking and don't have any experience with the bandsaw.

Thanks in advance for your input,

Andy

There is going to be a wealth of info already here - just search on first bandsaw. Most will ask you what you want to do - resaw? General cutting, what are you trying to do and what projects to you plan on building? Most will want to know that before they offer advice.

For myself - I was in your shoes about 18 months ago - I chose and found a wonderful used Powermatic 141 - added a kreg fence and was out of pocket about $550. It does not have alot of resaw height - but it just keeps running well. I have found that I could use more resaw height, so I have filed that need away when the budget will allow. But I have learned alot about bandsaws and should be able to sell this one if I chose for nearly what I have into it. If you must have new - Grizzly, Powermatic, Delta and Jet all have good ones - buy as big as you can afford.

I used my power tool purchases as a learning experience - and I have made only two out of about 8 mistakes - should have held out for an 8" jointer, and a 220v cabinet/hybrid table saw.
    Sawdust is some of the best learning material!

Surely with 1k to spend you could go bigger than 14". I'd check out Grizzly, or look for Woodcraft to put the 18" Rikon on sale again.