Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Powermatic 66

Powermatic 66

Noob here with a question. I have no woodworking experience but plan to do alot of learning soon. I have arranged to purchase a table saw, used Powermatic 66 w/2 hp 220 motor, 50" Biesemeyer fense, HTC mobility base.

Anything I should take a look at, known weak spots I should check? Second problem is I need to load the saw into the back of my pickup. How much will I have to dismantle it to get it down to a two man lift? I'm guessing the saw weighs about 700 lbs. I figure I will take off the fence, wings and top. Will I have to remove the motor, too, in order to get the weight to a managable level?

I started out looking at contractors saw and look what happened.

Good call getting a nice saw to start with - upgrading is a pain! I just got a cabinet saw and am still wrestling with the mobile base / router table assembly. GF doesn't quite get it - I was all setup with my hybrid, now I haven't produced anything in weeks b/d of my "upgrade"!

You should be able to take the top off farily easily as well if you need to which will require some setup of the blade later. But I suggest you do a full tune-up of the saw anyway since I assume it's used.

Have a good handtruck with you with a ratcheting strap to secure the saw to the 'truck, and slide the saw up some 2x8's to the bed of the pickup.

Wow, that's a HELLUVA starter saw. Check the arbor bearings for noise and make sure the top is reasonably flat. You can always give it a tune-up when you get it home.

Jason

Quote Originally Posted by Stan Johnsey View Post
    Noob here with a question. I have no woodworking experience but plan to do alot of learning soon. I have arranged to purchase a table saw, used Powermatic 66 w/2 hp 220 motor, 50" Biesemeyer fense, HTC mobility base.