Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Exhausting DC Outside: Is it safe for the motor?

Question Exhausting DC Outside: Is it safe for the motor?

I have the option to exhaust my DC directly outside during the warmer months. My shop is in an attached two car garage. The garage has no heat or AC; so it doesn't share any piping with the house.

My question regards the DC motor (it's a Griz G10292Z). I read a few threads here that warn about the motor being taxed too much if it's used without the bags. Terms like negative pressure and others beyond my understanding were used, so I wanted to ask the question in plain terms:

Would it be safe for the DC motor if I get rid of the bags and exhaust directly outside? I do this as a hobby, so the DC (and all my tools for this matter) gets only very light use.

Thanks!

Augusto,

I have been exhausting my dust collector outside for over 16 years and my DC motor seems to be just fine

No bags, no filters, no restriction, great performance

For the record my DC has a lot of hours on it mostly because my ShopBot CNC Router runs for long periods of time. I have a planer that has also put a lot of hours on my dust collection system through the years. If the motor in the DC died tomorrow it wouldn't owe me a thing.

Backpressure

I beleive and willing to be corrected the issue is that with no discharge backpressure the rotor can "overspeed" and draw more than the required Amps in this condition.
    most motors have an internal overload to prevent damage but I would monitor the motor temp as you first use it
    Bill

The issue is that as restrictions drop, airflow increases.

As you start pumping more air, you consume more power.

The motor can become overloaded, the only way to check is with an ammeter to measure motor current, when your fan is pumping the most air. (Blast gates open).

If your motor is overloaded a simple intake or exhaust restriction will lower the motor load.

Regards, Rod.