Thread: Drawers that pull both ways?

Drawers that pull both ways?

I'm toying with the idea of a drawer that will pull from either side of a peninsula cabinet. I've never seen slides that pull both ways, any ideas out there? Thanks.
    Alan & Lynette Mikkelsen, Mountain View Farm Gardens & Fine Woodworking, St. Ignatius, MT. Visitors Welcome!

You could go old school and make runners for the drawers to ride on. Or get fancy and make a dovetail way for them so they don't tip over. But how deep is the cabinet? Too deep, and you'd need to access half from each side anyway, so regular drawer slides would be about as easy. Jim.
    Coolmeadow Setters...Exclusively Irish! When Irish Eyes are smiling....They're usually up to something!!
    Home of Irish Setter Rescue of North Texas.
    No, I'm not an electrician. Any information I share is purely what I would do myself. If in doubt, hire an electrician!
    Member of the G0691 fan club!
    At a minimum, I'm Pentatoxic...Most likely I'm a Pentaholic. There seems to be no known cure. Pentatonix, winners of The Sing Off, s3.

Seems like I saw these some time back. Take a look at Lee Valley. I don't remember how far they pull out though. My shop work bench I built many moons ago has the runners with the "slick strip" UHMW on the runners. Works great but be careful they don't fly out the other side.

I've seen a really slick version of that recently. The drawer was all wood, and ran on wooden runners inside the cabinet. The neat part was that it had rare-earth magnets buried in the drawer sides, and matching ones in the runners. Together, they provide a detent at the closed position. You can still pull it out either direction, but it wants to stop at that closed position.

One version of that rare earth magnet trick is shown in one of the Kreg videos, don't remember which one... Steve

Blog Entries
    Here's a source: Pull through 2 way slides I believe Accuride makes the actual slides.
    Lee Schierer
    USNA '71