Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question about wood prices

Question about wood prices

I bought some wood from a local dealer, and since I'm relatively new at this, I'd like to get some feedback on the prices I paid:

10.25 BF of 8/4 Maple @$6.95/BF = $71.24
    7.75 BF of 4/4 poplar @ $2.99/BF = $23.17

Both pieces are S2S

This particular dealer is very conveniently located & has a fairly decent selection, but I haven't really bought enough wood from any source at this point to have a good feel for prices. Any comments?

TIA

Dan

On the East coast, that'd be fairly expensive. In Seattle, not so much. The maple might've been locally grown, but I'm pretty sure the poplar was transported from the SouthEast, and freight's expensive.

You will quickly find, however, that it pays to get a planer and a jointer, or a couple of handplanes to do the surfacing yourself. Not only can rough lumber be purchased less expensively, but S2S often continues to move after it's surfaced to the point where it has to be re-surfaced to be usable in the shop, so you're paying for something that doesn't help you.

Wood prices vary so much in different parts of the country that it's hard for anyone outside of your area to give an accurate answer. This is especially true for domestic woods. That would be a great price for maple here in Az, but might not be in Seattle. I never pay more than $5/BF for mesquite as it is plentiful here, but $10/BF would be a good price elsewhere.

$3 / bf for s2s poplar seems a little high. Would be high for my area (I buy wood in Houston)

Todd

Blog Entries
    That's about right for SoCal.
    "A hen is only an egg's way of making another egg".

– Samuel Butler