Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I thought I knew how to turn bowls.

I thought I knew how to turn bowls.

Day one of a 3 day workshop with Stewart and Allen Batty. As a primarily self taught bowl turner, I was very surprised at how much I learned in one session with Stewart. This will change a lot of things I do. First thing to go will be the Ellsworth sharpening jig. The hand sharpened gouges, not swept back work so much better. I still have to figure out if my scrapers will rough out faster than a gouge though.

Tomorrow is with Allen. I use a skew just enough to get the hang of it then it sits for a few months, and I don't quite have to start over.

Day 3 hand chased threads, and review.

Probably my biggest gloat to date.

robo hippy

Must be nice!!
    So are the gouges more blunted? Have you seen how Johannes Mickelsen sharpens his? His has a rolled bevel. Almost catch proof.

Quote Originally Posted by Reed Gray View Post
    First thing to go will be the Ellsworth sharpening jig. The hand sharpened gouges, not swept back work so much better
    Do you mean sharpened like a traditional bowl gouge rather than a fingernail, Irish, or Ellsworth grind?
    Chris

What! There's no coffee!!?

Reed - glad to hear you are enjoying the classes! Looking forward to hearing more about it once you have more time! Have fun!
    Steve

“You never know what you got til it's gone!”
    Please don’t let that happen!
    Become a financial Contributor today!

Reed,
    Where are you taking the classes?

Reed,

That's outstanding! One of the most enjoyable workshops I ever attended was a front-row seat with Stuart Batty, learned a lot AND he was such fun as well! Enjoy your time and tell us more as you go along!

Jude

Sounds like a good time to me!! Keep posting and let us know everything ok!!
    If at first you don't succeed, look in the trash for the instructions.

I have only been turning a few weeks now