Thread: CL Grizzly Jointer

CL Grizzly Jointer

I'm a novice woodworker looking for a jointer and came across this 6" one on CL.

There's no manuals and has seen little use according to the owner. He's not sure how old it is or what the model is, after a bit of research, I think it's a G1182. Originally asking $350 but will take $200. Being new, I'm not sure if this is a good deal or not. I think $150 or less is more like it. Would I be able to get manuals from Grizzly? I haven't been over to see it and quite honestly I'm not sure that would matter being that I wouldn't know what to look for. Any helpful tips if this was/is a decent machine and would be a good deal or not?
    Last edited by Tim Robert; 06-24-2009 at 10:29 AM.

May be a fair deal...

From the color of green I have seen on other machines, I'd guess it is 8-10 years old, Taiwan-made. If it is in as good condition as it appears and the mobile base is included, $200 is about the limit of what I would pay - a new comparable one is not much more than twice that.

If you know the model number, Grizzly has manuals online for just about anything they ever sold:

http://www.grizzly.com/manuals.aspx

I would take a good straightedge and check tables and fence for flatness, warp, and pareallelism, see if the table adjustments are smooth-operating and the guard works, and whether the motor looks and sounds in good condition. It looks like the dust port is missing but something similar can be had from Woodcraft or Rockler.

If it is in good mechanical condition, $200 seems like a fair price for it.

I have the same jointer