Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Need 3 phase Assistance

Need 3 phase Assistance

As I am doing research into wiring 3 phase circuits, I keep coming up short. I mean, things are still a little hazy, and I would love help nailing down the details.

1.) Assuming I am using 10 gauge wire, do I need 3 conductors and a ground, or do I also need a neutral? For some reason I seem to be getting mixed messages in this department. (Or I am just misunderstanding.)

2.) What's the least expensive way to get power to the four 3 phase tools. Meaning, how do I connect four loads to the one power source with the least expense? Do I need a 3 phase load center, or do i just run all the tools into one junction box and feed it directly from the converter?

3.) Do you have any pictures of your 3 phase wiring/circuits?

Thanks for any help you can give!

Hutch

I am not an electrician, so you get what you pay for.

1. 3 conductors and a ground. That is the way all my 3 phase tools are laid out.

2. I daisy chained the outlets just like you would do for single phase outlets. I want a 3 phase load center, just haven't found one cheap enough for my budget.

3. Sorry, no pics. I come out of a phase converter and go to twist lock 3 phase receptacles. The receptacles and plugs gave me sticker shock!

I hear that!

Yeah, same here. I went to price out the plugs and just about had a fit. Did you use twist lock plugs? I was told there wasn't any other kind available for this type of setup, and that means about $60 per tool just for the stinkin' twist locks!! Did you find any bargains?

Ok, so what you are saying makes a lot of sense. I think I am in a similar situation, not being able to find an affordable load center and all. So I think I will proceed to plan the receptacles in series, like you said.

Cool Stuff! Thank you!

Hutch

BTW, did you run the circuit yourself?
    Last edited by Matt Hutchinson; 06-29-2009 at 9:37 PM.