Thread: Nordfab, K&B Ducts or PVC Which one?

Nordfab, K&B Ducts or PVC Which one?

I have just installed a Clear Vue and am just getting off the floor after receiving my quote from NordFab. I knew they were pricey but was not ready for their number. K & B Ducts are less than half and then there is PVC about 1k under K&B. I have not found a local supplier of S&D so I have priced SDR35. I have not heard much about K&B on the forum and would like some comments from anyone who has dealt with them.

Try to find a landscape supplier or a major plumbing distributor. I bought 6" S&D in Spartanburg, SC for under $1.60/foot two years ago and fittings were cheaper than the same ASTM 2729 fittngs at the Blue BORG. SDR35 will work with those fittings, but you'll be lucky to find it in White (most I've see is a sickly pale green). I have no experience with K&B.

3. Try Spiral Manufacturing. All my ductwork comes from them and the quote was really good. I also got a quote from Nordfab and, well, went straight with Spiral.

what is the difference?

What is the difference between S&D and regular PVC?

Chuck

The ASTM 2729 S&D has a thinner wall thickness and corresponding lower cost.

I have tried the major suppliers (Fergusen, HD Supply/Waterworks...) but to no avail (4" is no problem). They are not even interested in ordering the 6". I guess I will extend my search radius.

PVC... I know, I know, the "static" problem. I decided it was ok for me, you make your decision.

I got all my pvc from Lowes.

I like my pvc piping very much. I put all of this up by myself. Had to think a lot but it was enjoyable.

Here is the link to my web album

Good Luck, let us see what you decide and how the project progresses.
    Bartee Lamar

Well, I went with the metal duct from K & B. I will have the PVC coming out of the Clearvue and then make a transition to the metal. Thanks for the input.

Blog Entries