Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Akeda or Leigh for dovetails

Akeda or Leigh for dovetails

I see a dovetail jig in my future and have been reading all I can find on here about them. I want something easy to use, I am new to dovetails and did have a cheap jig years ago that I never did figure out, I guess that is what scares me spending money on a jig and not being able to figure it out.

With ease of use in mind the Akeda seems to stand out, is it all it says it is, from videos it sure seems simple enough. The only thought I have against Akeda is it seems to have a very limited sales outlet, so I assume a very small company. I am worried about how long they may be around if one should need parts or bits or extra guides.

The Leigh seems to be the time proven standard and is widely available but may be more difficult to learn. Since I had an old plastic sears one that I never did figure out I am worried about the Leigh learning curve.

Anyone care to coment on either one to help make up my mind

thanks
    Phil

I have no experience with Akeda. (I thot that was a big *husky-looking* dog!)

My Leigh D4 24" worked Great, right out of the box (once I set it up per the excellent instructions) There is a moderate learning curve, as with any precise machine. You can't go wrong with a Leigh!

Besides, gently used Leigh jigs can be had off CL or eB at quite a savings. I very rarely see an Akeda offered in the Mid-West.
    [/SIGPIC]Necessisity is the Mother of Invention, But If it Ain't Broke don't Fix It !!

I upgraded from a pc4212 to a used Akeda. It is fairly easy to figure out and does a good job. Dust collection is excellent.
    I would highly recommend a clear base plate on the router, since there are gaps inbetween the fingers, you need to see where the router is at on the jig. There are spacers you can cut and install to fill the gaps if desired.