Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First time with drawers

First time with drawers

Hello All,

I am building some drawers for the first time. These drawers are for the garage. Expecting a heavy load, I purchased 100lb full extention ball bearing side slides by Decorite. I have never done this before and the slides didn't come with instructions, so I had a few questions.

1) How much space do I need to build into the width of the drawer to compensate for the slides? For example, if the space is 24", how wide should my drawer be? I have heard 1/2" per slide (1" total), but I wanted to confirm.

2) Where should the slides be installed on the drawer itself? I thought is should be toward the middle on each side of the drawer, but I am not sure.

3) I purchased 22" slides, and they are actually 21.5" long. I am assuming my drawers should be no more than 21.5", or should I build them a little less deep (shallower?), say, 21"

4) Is there a tutorial on installing these types of drawer slides? I went online and didn't find anything on the manufacturer's web site (Decorite).

5) I am attaching these slides into 3/4 BB ply. No screws were included with the slides. What type of screws should I purchase?

I want to make sure these drawers are the right width and depth the first time. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Dwain

never done drawer slides, but temp mounting on each side of a scrap would tell you how much to allow.
    Jr.
    Hand tools are very modern- they are all cordless
    NORMAL is just a setting on the washing machine.
    Be who you are and say what you feel... because those that matter... don't mind...and those that mind...don't matter!
    By Hammer and Hand All Arts Do Stand

I just picked up some 18" full extension slides from the borg. They came with a little instruction manual...mine are 1/2" and they came with screws. Where did you buy yours?