Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: A pet peave of mine

Angry A pet peave of mine

People who ask you for advice that is freely given, and then when they get a great deal on something they try to sell it to you for 3 times what they paid for it. I'm not against making a profit, however; I think that is just trying to take advantage of people.

I'm a computer programmer who used to be a computer tech so I'm pretty knowledgable about the suckers. So when I do a side job for a company I expect to get a pretty good check out of it, but if I'm asked by an acquaintance for advice, within reason I give it freely. That is just like this board, some of you guys on here make your living by knowledge us amatures wish we had, and when we ask a question, thank goodness, you guys are willing to give that advice.

If I had given someone advice, then they offer to sell me something they got a great deal on for 3 times more than they paid for it, I'm sorry, I'm going to be insulted and well I think anyone should be.

None of my friends have ever tried to make a profit off me. You might want to be sure of what you are calling a friend.

I caught that, too, Rick. I agree with you.

It's too late, now, I guess. I suppose I'm glad I know who to avoid, though.
    Last edited by Jason Beam; 08-14-2009 at 5:06 PM.
    Jason Beam
    Sacramento, CA

beamerweb.com

Yup. Kinda tacky.

Quote Originally Posted by Jason Beam View Post
    I caught that, too, Rick. I agree. If you're going to try to profit from a deal you got thanks to this place, do it somewhere else so we don't know you're a snake. Too late, now, I guess. I suppose I'm glad I know who to avoid, though.
    Jason,

Without knowing who y'all are talking about - your comment could be miscontrued as being directed at Rick. I'd suggest you reword your post a bit so that's clearer. FYI, you have 24 hours to edit your post from when you post it.

Rob

My advice is free......and most often, that's all it's worth.
    Gene