Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: man, computers got cheap all of a sudden didn't they?

man, computers got cheap all of a sudden didn't they?

i've been using the same laptop for about 3 years now. was an old sony vaio, which i liked for what it was, but wasn't cheap when i bought it, that's for sure. i think i paid 1900 when i got it, and for laptops under 5 pounds with over 6 hours of battery life, it was one of few choices back then.

unfortunately i dropped it and broke the side of the case open about a month ago and while it still works, i was getting tired of taking it out to the shop to blow the dust out with my compressor, so i figured i'd get a new one.

turns out i had trouble spending 700 dollars on a new HP, which is pretty much superior in every way to my old one in terms of ruggedness, keyboard, screen brightness, etc. i wound up getting one from the mid grade business class (probook) line. even the high end line was only around a thousand.

guess recessions aren't all bad, huh?

IMHO, not just recessions. Netbooks are another thing that has brought them down, as what do people use them for?

Heck, compare one of them to your old laptop.

Quote Originally Posted by Randal Stevenson View Post
    IMHO, not just recessions. Netbooks are another thing that has brought them down, as what do people use them for?
    I sat next to a lady using a small (9" across) computer very successfully. Then I realized that her hands were half the size of mine, so the keyboard fit her well.

Maybe they should make keyboards in different sizes for different hand sizes.
    Please consider becoming a contributing member of Sawmill Creek.
    The cost is minimal and the benefits are real. Donate

netbook keyboards & hand size

Quote Originally Posted by John Schreiber View Post
    I sat next to a lady using a small (9" across) computer very successfully. Then I realized that her hands were half the size of mine, so the keyboard fit her well.