Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I shouldn't have done this......

I shouldn't have done this......

As some of you know, I am new to the round world, and recently got a cheap lathe to do legs, etc. for my furniture projects. So far, I have viewed the lathe as just a tool to "mill" one more component for a particular piece of furniture.

I brought down some walnut (favorite wood!) from the barn for a table I want to build. My thought is to do the legs and top in walnut, with curly maple aprons and some walnut accents.

Given that I had only turned some pine and poplar for practice, I knew I needed quite a bit of practice on walnut before getting serious about this table.

Took the hatchet and split out a piece from some scrap, and did a few coves and beads. The walnut was sweet to turn - so much better than the pine and poplar! My next thought was, "I bet this will finish out nice."

I sanded it, and applied a little BLO, burnished it with some chips from the turning, applied a couple coats of shellac very quickly, and then some paste wax - total time for turning and finish probably 20 minutes.
    WALNUT SPOOL.jpg
    This ain't much for you guys, but for a flat worker like me, this is really exciting!! I love walnut, and now I love ROUND walnut!!

I shouldn't have done this.... I feel a strange spinning feeling....could this be the VORTEX??!!??

Uh oh... hear that sound John? That's the vortex and resist all you want, you'll soon find yourself hopelessly caught.

Walnut is one of my favorites too!

John - you were warned because it has happened to all of us! Something about having a finished product in hand in just a few minutes sure is nice for a change! It does get addicting and the more you 'practice' - the more you are hooked!

Welcome to the Vortex!
    Steve

“You never know what you got til it's gone!”
    Please don’t let that happen!
    Become a financial Contributor today!

4. John, you are doomed....doooooooooomed I tell you.

Brendan

Blog Entries