Thread: Newbie needing TS plywood cutting advice

Newbie needing TS plywood cutting advice

I'm brand new to woodworking. This is a fantastic forum!

I'm a about to order a General 50-185 table saw w/50" fence and a
    HTC mobile base.

I have a few questions about saw blades, plywood and kefs.
    I'll mostly be cutting (ripping and crosscutting) large sheets of quality 3/4" plywood.

Is the Forrest Duraline HI- A/T the kind of blade I should be looking at, or is this blade mainly for cutting "thin" plywood?

I've also heard about special plywood blades from Systimatic.

What about the kerf? What's the advantage/disadantage of a 3/32" vs. 1/8" kerf?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Chris

Welcome to woodworking!

The Forrest Blade you mentioned would certainly work wonderfully, but plywood is hard on blades. Personally I would go with a less expensive ply blade, but that's just me. I do use a Forrest WWII for hardwoods.
    I think the thin kerf is mostly for the lower powered saws and I think your General is 1.5 hp so it should be fine. Just remeber that a lot of splitters can;t be used with thin kerf blades and if you don't do anything else...use a splitter. Large sheets of 3/4" ply are hard to handle on a cabinet saw, not to mention a contractors saw. I would recommend cutting to rough size with a circular saw, jig saw or even a hand saw before moving them to the table saw for final dimensioning.

Another newbie who knows nothing put puts her two cents worth in anyway!

Carole's excellent advise applies very well to your situation. Ditto in every way.
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

Chris,