Thread: Lathe question

Lathe question

Let me start by saying that I have never used a Lathe before. They have always scared me a bit, however, the time has come to add one to my shop.

I would like to purchase a mini lathe. Should be a good place to start, and I would like to give pen making a try.

There are a lot of mini lathes on the market. What should I look for in a lathe? What would you recomment for a "hobbiest" who would like to start out with pen making? Can a mini lathe be used for anything other than pen making?

Thanks for reading this, and for any help you can offer.

Greg

Hi Greg. I have a Jet Variable Speed Mini Lathe, and it is a fine little machine. I turn Pens and many other smaller items on it. It is great for small bowls, spindle work, and lidded boxes. Pretty much anything you can turn on a larger machine can be turned on a Mini Lathe...................just in a smaller scale. I would recommend going with a variable speed machine though......it will help you with sanding and such, and IMO, it would be easier to get started with. The cost is a little more for a VS mini, but worth every dime. Good luck................you will love turning! Let us know what you decide, and have fun with it!

Just my 2 cents worth ----I think you would be much happier if you bought a Midi.
    The cost is not a lot greater but the size of projects you can turn is.
    ---I may be broke---but we have plenty of wood---

I will second the Jet Mini. Great little lathe.
    Dick

No Pain-No Gain- Not!
    No Pain-Good

Once you learn it....and it's easy and fun....you'll probably want to do full-sized turnings, too.

Delta 46's can be had used on Ebay for local pickup in the neighborhood of 275 bucks. Not a OneWay, but a good commercial-grade 14" lathe that'll do porch columns as well as pens.
    Last edited by Ken Salisbury; 09-27-2004 at 9:26 AM. Reason: removed direct link to another public forum - violates SMC TOS