Thread: FINALLY! A real finish!

FINALLY! A real finish!

<satisfied sigh>

So, I've been trying, literally, for years to get a nice sprayed on finish. I've started over so many times, changed techniques/finishes and started over again so often, I figured it would never, ever happen and that I was doomed to wipe-on or brush-on.

Boy, did I surprise myself.

I have 15 Christmas boxes made up, and opened up the 18-month-old pre-cat that was in the nice Graco gun. There were beautiful green crystals all over everything in the gun. After a good 30 minutes of cleaning every pore of the gun, and then spraying 1/2 cup of lacquer thinner through it, I started playing in earnest with the knobs on the gun. Guess what?! They have a PURPOSE! Each of them does something different!

So, after getting a nice mild aerosol-ish pattern I liked, I cleaned and dried the gun one last time, filled it with a filtered well-mixed 1/2 Deft Gloss from a gallon can and 1/2 lacquer thinner. I sprayed some test pieces, slowly, with light overlap, (way more finish than I would have expected) and was stunned.

I grabbed one of the boxes and went to town. With all the spray practice I've had, it was a breeze. I layed down two coats on inside/out of each of the boxes, (with full respirator and plenty of open-air venting) and they look incredible.