Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Dumb things you can do to hurt yourself on a TS

Dumb things you can do to hurt yourself on a TS

As many of you know from my other thread regarding the purchase of my first TS, I'm a rookie to this dangerous power tool.

I have watched countless videos and read countless websites and magazines about how to safely use a table saw. I started off respectful but confident, but recently, having come across numerous harrowing tales of injury and carnage resulting from table saws (sometimes the internet can be a bad thing!), started getting a bit more nervous.

My question is this - does a riving knife and proper feed method (that keeps your hands away from the blade, e.g. GRR-ripper) basically guarantee you won't experience an injury? Are there any types of kickback that can happen DESPITE having a riving knife or splitter installed? Are there other dumb things you should make sure never to do, like never letting go of the wood you're feeding through the blade? What about boards that aren't very flat, or properly dried - does a riving knife keep things safe in those circumstances? Is it as simple as "keep the kerf open, no kickback."

I'm sort of embarrassed to ask this, but figured you good folks wouldn't be TOO hard on me.

i cant say for certainty but logic would dictate that if a riving knife were flawless in its ability to prevent any type of kickback then there would be no market for splitters with anti kickback prawls.

i can tell for for certainty that the tool i have been most injured by is.....a flat blade screwdriver. laugh all you want but i have managed to slice my hand open with one of those more times than i care to remember; so much so that i generally choose other screw/driver types.

the safest thing you can do with a TS is not to touch the blade when it is running, and dont stand in a place where a kickback will hit you.