Thread: Ridgid MSUV vs. shop build mobile cart for SCMS

Ridgid MSUV vs. shop build mobile cart for SCMS

I have a Makita 10" Sliding Miter Saw mounted on a Ridgid MSUV (Miter Saw Utility Vehicle): http://www.ridgid.com/Tools/AC9944-M...e/EN/index.htm

The unit is built very well, but it's sort of a pain to roll out and set up, esp. for just one or two cuts on a small piece of wood. Also, it doesn't seem as accurate as a custom built unit because there is little fence other that the rather small fence on the Makita unit.

I really want to mount it permanently, but it would require a 36" wide (and probably 10-12 feet long) table because of the slider. I just don't have the room for something like that.

So the MSUV is OK for now, but I really want something better. I'm just a hobby woodworker, so the miter saw never leaves my garage shop. Is it worth it to build a nice miter saw cart with collapsible wings?

Something like this: http://www.popularwoodworking.com/ar...ter_Saw_Stand/

Thanks,
    Greg

Greg

How about building some custom wings for your MSUV, then you could have the best of both worlds. You could build something that could be attached to and supported by the extensions on the MSUV. I have a MSUV with a 12" Bosch CMS and have thought of making something for it but haven't got around to it yet.

I do have a permanent mitersaw table in my shop with a 10" Dewalt mounted on it. The little Dewalt is very accurate and is used mostly for sizing stiles and rails for cabinet parts. The Bosch/MSUV is used for trim work. I like being able to bring it where the work is.

I've been looking and thinking about a SCMS stations for a little bit now, and I think I'm going to take the cabinet and adjustable riser from here (http://www.popularwoodworking.com/ar...ter_Saw_Stand/) and the wings from here (http://mikefromwinton.com/mtrsaw.html).