Thread: Resawing problem with Delta BS

Resawing problem with Delta BS

I tried the search function for my problem but couldn't find it.

Question: I keep getting a bowing in the wood when resawing a 4" board.

I retensioned the Timberwolf 1/2" blade several times on the 14" Delta. Finally, I stopped what I was doing and completely tuned the saw, THEN, retension and runied another board. UGHHH!!!

I'm pretty new at wood working so I ask, Would would a dull blade act like?? I'm not suggesting that my blade is dull, although it could be, I just wonder the answer to the question while I'm asking.

Your thoughts are appreciated.
    If you can't fix it with a hammer, you have an electrical problem.

What kind of fence are you using? If you haven't compensated the fence for blade drift you can get a bow even if the tension is right and the guide blocks are set up. I'd guess that is your problem.

Yes, a dull blade will cause the problem.
    I've never had problems no matter what fence I use, but if you don't compensate for drift, you can have problems.
    How do you tension the blade? Is it a new blade?
    Are you pushing on it too hard?

I have a Delta 14" w/riser and use a TW 1/2" blade with no problems. I use the flutter method to adjust the tension. It is explained on the blade package and on the TW website.
    Last edited by Myk Rian; 12-10-2009 at 8:07 PM.
    Never, under any circumstances, consume a laxative and sleeping pill, on the same night

I Think I set the drift wrong. I just read more about it. I'll try it again tomorrow. Also, just read the TW "flutter method. I'll try that tomorrow too.

Thanks guys. Ken
    If you can't fix it with a hammer, you have an electrical problem.

A dull blade will both wander and bow on thicker wood. On thinner hardwood it will just wander. If it exhibits those characteristics, change the blade.